Author Topic: "Hack Detected" warning?  (Read 2252 times)

Offline Erudessa

• Total Beginner
  • LV: 0
    • View Profile
"Hack Detected" warning?
« on: February 01, 2014, 05:03:33 PM »
For some odd reasons the game says "Hack Detected" whenever I am attempting run the game through Steam.
However, I just can't see a logical reason why it's claiming that I am using hacking software while I am not using any sort of Hacking software?
Anyone else experienced this while using Steam to run the game instead of using the launcher?

Yesterday night I was able to play on the server just fine, but this was without Steam Overlay...

(Hopefully it's not reserving an unneeded ban, since Steam Overlay is curtainly not a hacking software, but a community for gamers around the world
Technically this message me off the game :/)

Offline G_G

• Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • LV: 407
    • View Profile
Re: "Hack Detected" warning?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 05:06:56 PM »
The Steam software injects a DLL into the software. The program he uses to pack everything together probably detects DLL injections, which are normally used to cheat (mostly in MMOs anyways) so it's probably setting off an alarm. Best bet, just launch it normally.

Offline Erudessa

• Total Beginner
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2014, 05:09:50 PM »
Just tried that, and still claiming "Hack Detected."
Any options?

« Last Edit: February 01, 2014, 05:21:22 PM by Erudessa »

Offline G_G

• Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2014, 05:21:24 PM »
Maybe after it detected DLL injenction, it created a file locally saying there's been a hack detected and preventing you from playing the game. Could always just your AppData folder.