Author Topic: [XP] Terrain Battle Background  (Read 9719 times)

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
[XP] Terrain Battle Background
« on: April 09, 2009, 02:30:47 AM »
Terrain Battle Background
Authors: game_guy
Version: 1.0
Type: Battle Background Changer
Key Term: Battle Add-on

Introduction

Remember back when RPG Maker 2003 and 2000 were used before XP was even out? Well there was a feature in there where the battle background changed depending on the terrain you were on. I have scripted this :)

Features

  • Configure Battle Backgrounds
  • Changes Background depending on terrain

Screenshots

(click to show/hide)

Demo

http://www.filedropper.com/stuff_1

Script


(click to show/hide)

Instructions

Change the name of the battle backs in the script between the quotes.
Code: [Select]
module GameGuy
  Terrain1 = "001-Grassland01"
  Terrain2 = "002-Woods01"
  Terrain3 = "003-Forest01"
  Terrain4 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain5 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain6 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain7 = "004-Mountain01"
end

This is very limited. With only 7 battle backs. Now I could have used terrain 0 as one but I left that in case you wanted to use a battle background from the tileset.

Compatibility

There shouldn't be any. Post any if you find some.

Credits and Thanks

  • game_guy (dont care if my name is game_girl now it'll be changed back eventually)

Author's Notes

Give proper credits :)

Offline Starrodkirby86

  • Kirby de Varita Estelar
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ********
  • Posts: 3282
  • LV: 194
  • Gender: Male
  • ~!
    • View Profile
    • The Archive of Starrodkirby86
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 02:32:42 AM »
It's a cool script...but yes, it is limited with the number of battle backgrounds possible. Perhaps you can make it a list exclusive to each tileset only? Of course this may be some tougher work, or it may not be possible at all (Which I doubt...somewhat), but who knows...who knows...

What's osu!? It's a rhythm game. Thought I should have a signature with a working rank. ;P It's now clickable!
Still Aqua's biggest fan (Or am I?).



Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 02:33:21 AM »
of course why I left terrain 0 out of the script. So you can use the tilesets background still.

Offline Starrodkirby86

  • Kirby de Varita Estelar
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ********
  • Posts: 3282
  • LV: 194
  • Gender: Male
  • ~!
    • View Profile
    • The Archive of Starrodkirby86
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2009, 02:38:15 AM »
Perhaps you didn't get my point. What I was stating was that you can have multiple lists for each tilesets that configure to each battle background.

For example, Port-Town's inside list of battle backgrounds would be something like (I'm not checking the tileset, this is purely random):
Code: [Select]
  Terrain1 = "001-Grassland01"
  Terrain2 = "002-Woods01"
  Terrain3 = "003-Forest01"
  Terrain4 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain5 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain6 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain7 = "004-Mountain01"

Then I have a list that does another module that goes for...Erm, good ol' Grassland:
Code: [Select]
  Terrain1 = "a"
  Terrain2 = "n"
  Terrain3 = "c"
  Terrain4 = "filename"
  Terrain5 = "003"
  Terrain6 = "n"
  Terrain7 = "d"

Get my point?

What's osu!? It's a rhythm game. Thought I should have a signature with a working rank. ;P It's now clickable!
Still Aqua's biggest fan (Or am I?).



Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2009, 02:53:39 AM »
Perhaps you didn't get my point. What I was stating was that you can have multiple lists for each tilesets that configure to each battle background.

For example, Port-Town's inside list of battle backgrounds would be something like (I'm not checking the tileset, this is purely random):
Code: [Select]
  Terrain1 = "001-Grassland01"
  Terrain2 = "002-Woods01"
  Terrain3 = "003-Forest01"
  Terrain4 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain5 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain6 = "004-Mountain01"
  Terrain7 = "004-Mountain01"

Then I have a list that does another module that goes for...Erm, good ol' Grassland:
Code: [Select]
  Terrain1 = "a"
  Terrain2 = "n"
  Terrain3 = "c"
  Terrain4 = "filename"
  Terrain5 = "003"
  Terrain6 = "n"
  Terrain7 = "d"

Get my point?

Its easy to apply that in script. But boy would that be alot of modules  :O.o:
There'd be 50 modules just for the default ones. And than it'd be a hassle for people to set there own up.

Offline Starrodkirby86

  • Kirby de Varita Estelar
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ********
  • Posts: 3282
  • LV: 194
  • Gender: Male
  • ~!
    • View Profile
    • The Archive of Starrodkirby86
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2009, 02:57:38 AM »
That's true. But for one, you're not going to use all the terrains for the tileset (Unless you are, the more you do, the more work you have anyway). Second, you're not even going to program all 50 of them. I mean seriously, how many different backgrounds are you going to have for InnerBody...? It's just a suggestion anyway, using only one module is indeed more convenient depending on how you change battle backgrounds overall in the game. The way with the multiple modules would just make it easier if you're going for a lot of specific tiles with backgrounds...

What's osu!? It's a rhythm game. Thought I should have a signature with a working rank. ;P It's now clickable!
Still Aqua's biggest fan (Or am I?).



Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2009, 02:58:56 AM »
I just sprouted an idea though! I think I can setup where you can confure which tilesets it doesnt affect. I'm going to try and see if I can get that.

Offline Starrodkirby86

  • Kirby de Varita Estelar
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ********
  • Posts: 3282
  • LV: 194
  • Gender: Male
  • ~!
    • View Profile
    • The Archive of Starrodkirby86
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2009, 03:02:12 AM »
I'll wait for that version to come up, and let's see what happens. Sounds great.

I cannot wait for this feature to be more optimal. Revival of such features from the old editor are a delight to hear. I'm surprised with the sheer convenience of the link though...Stuff_1. Stuff is pretty a common filename, and the fact it such a simple URL like that is interesting. It probably does work, yes...I got a download prompt...

What's osu!? It's a rhythm game. Thought I should have a signature with a working rank. ;P It's now clickable!
Still Aqua's biggest fan (Or am I?).



Offline nathmatt

  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1289
  • LV: 114
  • Gender: Male
  • The Add_on King
    • View Profile
    • Nathmatt Productions
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2009, 04:03:02 PM »
dont 4 get u can always change it by calling your module Gameguy::terain1 = newname
Join Dead Frontier
Sorry, I will no longer be scripting for RMXP. I may or may not give support for my scripts. I don't have the will to script in RGSS anymore.
My script
(click to show/hide)

Offline fugibo

  • World Conqueror
  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1966
  • LV: 44
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2009, 04:48:42 PM »
No, you can't. Those are constants.

Instead, use $game_system:

Code: [Select]
class Game_System
  attr_accessor :terrains
 
  alias gg_terrains_init initialize
  def initialize
    gg_terrains_init
    @terrains = {
      1 => "<name1>",
      2 => "<name2>",
      3 => "<name3>",
      4 => "<name4>",
      5 => "<name5>",
      6 => "<name6>",
      7 => "<name7>"
    }
  end
end

Then you can call with $game_system.terrains[<number>] = "<name>"

Offline nathmatt

  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1289
  • LV: 114
  • Gender: Male
  • The Add_on King
    • View Profile
    • Nathmatt Productions
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2009, 06:06:28 PM »
hmm thought 4 sure u could guess i was wrong
Join Dead Frontier
Sorry, I will no longer be scripting for RMXP. I may or may not give support for my scripts. I don't have the will to script in RGSS anymore.
My script
(click to show/hide)

Offline fugibo

  • World Conqueror
  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1966
  • LV: 44
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2009, 06:35:58 PM »
It's a constant. You can't change a constant. They never change.

You could edit the value, though:
Code: [Select]
GameGuy::Terrain1.gsub!(GameGuy::Terrain1, "<newValue>")

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2009, 07:45:59 PM »
Thank you guys. As soon as I get back to rapid city *currently in gillette spending easter break with grandma *sighs** I'll update this script

Offline Blizzard

  • This sexy
  • Administrator
  • has over 9000 posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 19903
  • LV: 642
  • Gender: Male
  • Magic midgets.
    • View Profile
    • You're already on it. (-_-')
Re: [XP] Terrain Battle Background
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2009, 03:34:39 PM »
This script is now part of Tons of Add-ons.
http://forum.chaos-project.com/index.php?topic=105.0
Check out Daygames and our games:

King of Booze      King of Booze: Never Ever      Pet Bots
Drinking Game for Android      Never have I ever for Android      Pet Bots for Android
Drinking Game for iOS      Never have I ever for iOS      Pet Bots for iOS
Drinking Game on Steam


Quote from: winkio
I do not speak to bricks, either as individuals or in wall form.

Quote from: Barney Stinson
When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.