Author Topic: [XP] Skill Equipment System  (Read 28178 times)

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
[XP] Skill Equipment System
« on: September 25, 2009, 05:20:10 AM »
Skill Equipment System
Authors: game_guy & KK20
Version: 1.4
Type: Skill Equipping
Key Term: Custom Skill System

Introduction

Okay well its a system that makes it so you can't use all of your skills at once while in battle. Instead you have to equip them. Now here's the catch. Every skill has its own "ap" so when its equipped it takes some of the actor's ap. That way you can't use all of your skills and it adds some uniqueness to the game.

Features

  • Equip Skills Strategically
  • Only Equip Limited Amount of Skills Using Ap
  • Have Different Starting Ap for Each Actor
  • Have Different Ap Gain for Each Actor per Level Up
  • Have Different Ap for Each Skill
  • Have an Exit Scene for When the Skill Equipment Closes
  • Permanently Learn Skills (Thanks KK20)
  • Certain skills cannot be equipped together at the same time (Thanks KK20)

Screenshots

(click to show/hide)

Demo

Updating Demo

Script

(click to show/hide)

Instructions

In the script.

Compatibility

Not tested with SDK.
The Skill Equipment System is not compatible with the "Materia-System"(from "SepirothSpawn" and the translated/modified ones)
The Skills, which are added by a materia aren`t appended in the Skill Equipment Screen.

Credits and Thanks

  • game_guy ~ for making it
  • KK20 ~ For adding new features and optimizing the script
  • Ethan ~ for making the idea of it
  • Branden ~ beta testing

Author's Notes

Give credits and enjoy!
« Last Edit: October 19, 2012, 06:09:04 AM by Lightning »

Offline Hellfire Dragon

  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
  • LV: 24
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 05:02:26 PM »
Nice, don't know about uniqueness though :P Does it work with Blizz ABS?

Offline Aqua

  • Lexima Warrior
  • *******
  • Posts: 2554
  • LV: 118
  • Gender: Female
  • Quack!
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 09:01:39 PM »
Shouldn't white be equipped and greyed out be non-equipped? :P

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 12:03:33 AM »
I'm going to test it with Blizz-Abs and aqua I'll switch it real fast

EDIT:
Switched the colors aqua need to update the demo tho

EDIT 2:
Updated demo

EDIT 3:
Works with Blizz-Abs
« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 05:46:48 AM by game_guy »

Offline Aqua

  • Lexima Warrior
  • *******
  • Posts: 2554
  • LV: 118
  • Gender: Female
  • Quack!
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 04:19:44 PM »
Lol...I could have told you that it was compatible with Blizz-ABS just by looking at the script... :P

Offline tSwitch

  • The Haunting
  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1448
  • LV: 1046
  • Gender: Female
  • formerly NAMKCOR
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2009, 06:43:26 PM »
I wouldn't call it AP, just because of the EQUAP skills in Tons of Addons.

FCF3a A+ C- D H- M P+ R T W- Z- Sf RLCT a cmn+++ d++ e++ f h+++ iw+++ j+ p sf+
Follow my project: MBlok | Find me on: tSwitch.us | Twitter | Tumblr

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2009, 08:30:08 PM »
well it is changable and I named the actors variabls differently so its ok.

Offline Blizzard

  • This sexy
  • Administrator
  • has over 9000 posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 19929
  • LV: 642
  • Gender: Male
  • Magic midgets.
    • View Profile
    • You're already on it. (-_-')
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2009, 08:40:47 PM »
Sounds still like EQUAP. ._.
Check out Daygames and our games:

King of Booze      King of Booze: Never Ever      Pet Bots
Drinking Game for Android      Never have I ever for Android      Pet Bots for Android
Drinking Game for iOS      Never have I ever for iOS      Pet Bots for iOS
Drinking Game on Steam


Quote from: winkio
I do not speak to bricks, either as individuals or in wall form.

Quote from: Barney Stinson
When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2009, 08:51:04 PM »
Yea but this doesnt use equipment for skills, you literally equip skills to the actor not using weapons or armor that way you actor doesnt have a crap load of spells to use in battle. It was my friends idea but yea you equip the spells to teh actor not through equipment

Offline Blizzard

  • This sexy
  • Administrator
  • has over 9000 posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 19929
  • LV: 642
  • Gender: Male
  • Magic midgets.
    • View Profile
    • You're already on it. (-_-')
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2009, 08:58:50 PM »
Ah, then I misunderstood the concept. Nice script. :D
Check out Daygames and our games:

King of Booze      King of Booze: Never Ever      Pet Bots
Drinking Game for Android      Never have I ever for Android      Pet Bots for Android
Drinking Game for iOS      Never have I ever for iOS      Pet Bots for iOS
Drinking Game on Steam


Quote from: winkio
I do not speak to bricks, either as individuals or in wall form.

Quote from: Barney Stinson
When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.

Offline tSwitch

  • The Haunting
  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1448
  • LV: 1046
  • Gender: Female
  • formerly NAMKCOR
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2009, 09:05:48 PM »
well it is changable and I named the actors variabls differently so its ok.

yeah I noticed when I put it in my game.

FCF3a A+ C- D H- M P+ R T W- Z- Sf RLCT a cmn+++ d++ e++ f h+++ iw+++ j+ p sf+
Follow my project: MBlok | Find me on: tSwitch.us | Twitter | Tumblr

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2009, 09:12:23 PM »
Ah, then I misunderstood the concept. Nice script. :D

Thanks :)

Anyways yea this didnt take long to make but I feel there should still be something added...its probably just me but anyone have any suggestions?

Offline tSwitch

  • The Haunting
  • Chaos User
  • ******
  • Posts: 1448
  • LV: 1046
  • Gender: Female
  • formerly NAMKCOR
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2009, 04:09:12 PM »
found a bug.

when you call the equip skill from the map it doesn't update ap
because you only have ap update during the equip scene.

solution: move ap change to the equip_skill method.

FCF3a A+ C- D H- M P+ R T W- Z- Sf RLCT a cmn+++ d++ e++ f h+++ iw+++ j+ p sf+
Follow my project: MBlok | Find me on: tSwitch.us | Twitter | Tumblr

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2009, 05:54:37 PM »
doing that right now

EDIT: Updated demo and script, fixed minor bug....
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 05:57:58 PM by game_guy »

Offline Orici

  • Trained Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • LV: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2009, 03:23:35 AM »
I downloaded the demo and got this error when tried to equip a skill
Script 'Skill Equipment System' line 151 nomethoderror ocurred
undefined method 'skillap' for nil:Nilclass

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2009, 04:44:39 AM »
updated, try it now

Offline Orici

  • Trained Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • LV: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2009, 06:35:07 PM »
now it says, in the same line

undefined method 'skillap' for #<RPG::Actor:0x14c0c70>  :(

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2009, 06:41:59 PM »
now try it I think I fixed it for sure.

Offline Calintz

  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ********
  • Posts: 3803
  • LV: 108
  • Gender: Male
  • A Pixel's Worst Nightmare
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2009, 06:46:33 PM »
Sounds fantastic!!
I'll have to try it out!!

Offline G_G

  • Green Gmod Game_Guy AKA G4 AKA hyper-G AKA G-force
  • Global Moderator
  • Chaos Ultimate
  • ****
  • Posts: 6585
  • LV: 407
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] Skill Equipment System
« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2009, 06:47:55 PM »
*updates yet again* Fixed another small bug