Acer Laptop - no BOOT.ini, network boot ONLY

Started by mroedesigns, June 13, 2011, 10:30:17 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

mroedesigns

I have an ACER laptop that's all kinds of jacked up apparently. I went to start it, and it says there's no boot file, nothing to boot on. I tried entering the BIOS to boot of a USB drive (no disc drive), but the only boot option I have is Boot from Network, which I have never done before, so I don't know how it works.

I tried hitting network boot and booting off a usb drive but that didn't work either.
Any ideas?

WhiteRose

It sounds like the BIOS is messed up. When did the computer start acting like this?

mroedesigns

Today. Worked fine last time I used it. I'm assuming it got dropped or something and nobody wants to tell me  :roll:

ForeverZer0

Download Ubuntu and burn a Live CD and boot off that. From there you can actually get into the file system and see whats going on and make any needed repairs. The USB boot will only work if your motherboard supports it, which most modern PCs will, but burning a disc image is much easier than creating a bootable USB. You have to format it in FAT and also partition a bootable sector on it. The Live CD is much easier, simply burn the image on the disc and pop it in, select the disc drive as first in the boot order and fire it up.

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download
I am done scripting for RMXP. I will likely not offer support for even my own scripts anymore, but feel free to ask on the forum, there are plenty of other talented scripters that can help you.

mroedesigns

I don't have a disc drive like I said, that's why I was trying the USB. And I do have ubuntu, that's what I'm running. That's what I used to make the live USB

WhiteRose

Quote from: ForeverZer0 on June 13, 2011, 10:46:24 pm