Thinking outside the box or not

Started by Blizzard, August 01, 2012, 07:12:18 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Blizzard

Inspired by this comic, a colleague at work asked an interesting question: What would be the difference between thinking "outside the box" and thinking "without the box".
Check out Daygames and our games:

King of Booze 2      King of Booze: Never Ever
Drinking Game for Android      Never have I ever for Android
Drinking Game for iOS      Never have I ever for iOS

Quote from: winkioI do not speak to bricks, either as individuals or in wall form.

Quote from: Barney StinsonWhen I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.

Vell

Thinking without the box is akin to having never experienced the box at all. In my opinion, since I am not a licensed professional in anything nor am I referring to any professional's work, it would be similar to a situation where you went into the past and took someone from then into the present. Assuming "the past" is sufficiently long ago that society has changed to a point where that person's "box" (or rather, social expectations and predictions) is no longer relevant then you would have a person who was unaffected by society's current "box."

It may also include the concept of eliminating all expectation and bias about the world from yourself and seeing things as they are without the influence of society's subtle conditioning. If you take this as the interpretation, it would probably explain the character's expression of wonder as he says "whoa"

Blizzard

August 01, 2012, 01:58:20 pm #2 Last Edit: August 01, 2012, 02:03:44 pm by Blizzard