Windows 8 - A Developer's Perspective

Started by Blizzard, November 08, 2012, 03:43:38 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Blizzard

November 08, 2012, 03:43:38 pm Last Edit: November 08, 2012, 03:50:53 pm by Blizzard
First of all, it's not all that bad. But as a developer, I don't see much point in switching to Windows 8. And here's why.

The number of "normal" users exceeds the number of developers and power users by far. Desktop PCs aren't really the future of computers for the average person. Tablets seem more like it. Gaming will either move mostly to consoles or cloud gaming. Even though OnLive wasn't the success some people hoped it would be, one can already see that there are other companies attempting a similar approach at cloud gaming. The huge advantage here is that you can play a high-quality graphics game on a crappy device as all you are getting is just the video stream. Of course this kind of approach has its disadvantages, but this is not what we're here to talk about today.

Today I will give you an insight on Windows 8 as a developer. I have used Windows 8 a bit for Metro-style app development at work over the past month, running it in VMWare's player as a virtual machine (first with 1 GB RAM, but as that proved to be not enough, I changed it to 1.5 GB).
First of all, Windows 8 was never intended to be for desktop PCs. Its primary platforms are tablet and smartphones (aka Windows Phone 8 ). Microsoft is aware that they are losing a big share of the market to Apple and the Android manufacturers so Windows 8 is pretty much meant to be a good shot to catch up with them. And as far as tablets are concerned, they did a pretty good job. But for a desktop PC, it's not very well suited.