Tau or Pi?

Started by SBR*, November 10, 2012, 07:05:05 am

Previous topic - Next topic

SBR*

What do you guys think? Should Pi be replaced by Tau?

Information about Tau:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jG7vhMMXagQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83ofi_L6eAo

I am by no means an expert at Maths, but I'd like to express my opinion anyway. First of all, I think tau is a wonderful concept and much more fundamental than pi. Radians just make so much more sense when using tau and students who have a hard time understanding radians would probably be better off using tau.

However, I think pi can't be fully replaced by tau or will take a long time to be replaced. After all, everybody is already used to tau, especially the laymen. If you were to tell a random person pi is wrong and that it is to be replaced by tau, they would probably shrug their shoulders and when you ask them later what the circumference of a circle is, they'd probably answer 2 pi r. That being said, the same thing goes for radians really. Laymen and beginners always use degrees to express an angle, but those who are a bit more advanced at maths use radians too. The latter could probably learn to use tau.

Students could at first learn to use degrees and pi, but when they have to learn radians, pi gets replaced by tau.

I'd love to hear you guys' opinion on this matter :).

Blizzard

November 10, 2012, 07:51:48 am #1 Last Edit: November 10, 2012, 08:09:21 am by Blizzard
I wasn't convinced until I saw eiT = 1. Yup, 2 PI should be replaced with T, but only for understanding and teaching children about trigonometry, circles and waves. If you read up on Wiki about PI, you will notice how many representative formulas and attempts for calculation are important that PI stays PI.

What the people don't understand is that math is messy. It's not always elegant and there aren't always elegant solutions or substitutes.