Quick Start Guide to Cryptocurrencies

Started by Blizzard, December 19, 2017, 01:28:00 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Blizzard

December 19, 2017, 01:28:00 pm Last Edit: December 19, 2017, 01:39:53 pm by Blizzard
So, I've been doing some stuff with cryptocurrencies for the past 6 months and I decided it would be a nice idea to share some of my experiences. But first 2 disclaimers:

1. This is not financial advice. It is merely my opinion and experience so far. You are responsible for any trading you decide to do, regardless of the outcome.

2. Cryptocurrency trading is highly volatile and very risky. There is a realistic chance that you will lose all your investment.

Blockchain technology

Before I go into any detail, I want to explain what a blockchain is. It's basically a huge log file with the history of all transactions. What miners actually do is solve mathematical puzzles (with a hashing algorithm) in order to confirm the legitimacy of these transactions and then they are reward with a certain amount Bitcoins for their work. You also put aside some of the currency you send that is then awarded to the miner as well which basically means you pay a fee for transactions (you will see soon why this is important). This is also why it's called "proof of work algorithm" since it's assumed that you did the work to solve the puzzles if you have the solution. The key here is that miners all have copies of the entire blockchain (which is currently 170GB I think) and they sync each other up all the time so it's not really possible to do something like a 51%-attack to confirm fake transactions, because other miners will not confirm them if you try to fake it.

Mining