Turn based and real time battles in the same game/map? XP

Started by Tyler, May 24, 2014, 09:40:52 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Tyler

Is it possible to have both turn based pokemon style battles and real time zelda battles in the same game/map? and if so how?

I'm using RPG XP and was using pokemon essentials at first, then I downloaded Blizz ABS but I'd really like to be able to have both battle styles in the same game, if any one can help me out here I'd be very appreciative

Hopefully this is in the right place, this is my first time posting here

Spaceman McConaughey

I don't think so, as there'd be too many conflicts (maybe, I don't know... I'm no expert).
If anything, you can have Pokemon Essentials and an evented ABS.

But now I must ask:
Why do you want this? Would an ABS tie into some kind of minigame for your project?
Is Pokemon Essentials some kind of minigame in it?

Tyler

An evented ABS? How does that work?

I would like most of the enemy's in my game to be visible on the map and play similar to a zelda game but for certain enemy's such as boos fights or when in tall grass a pokemon will appear and it goes into the turn based battle screen

KK20

If you think you can smash two scripts together, forget it. It's not going to work. Battle systems are designed to be the ONLY battle system in the game. If you know a thing about scripting, you can create it--it's not impossible. Just don't go running around forums asking for someone to build this for you though. Battle systems are the essential element to any RPG and, because of that, are usually overly complex and require a lot of time to perfect.