How much is fair to pay for commissioned artwork?

Started by vvalkingman, April 28, 2010, 08:49:25 am

Previous topic - Next topic

vvalkingman

I didn't really know where to post this question...guess this is as good a place as any :^_^': I found an artist to work on my project Knights of the Black Gate and I am new to the whole commissioned thing. I want to give the artist something for their work but I dont know what is fair or expected. Any ideas on this?

Aqua

vvalkingman

I guess I was pretty vague about that. The level is not that high and we are talking only battler artwork. I plan on talking it over with them and see their expectations, but I just wanted to at least walk into the conversation with an idea of what would be acceptable/expected.

winkio

I would go by the experience of the artist (high school, college, etc.), how long it took them to make, and the quality of the art.

Subsonic_Noise

Well, so you have something to compare, Brian and me where promised 40$ from someone who wanted to use one of our songs, later it was cut down to 20$, what we concidered to still be good. That guy earns some money through advertisement, though.

Who knows if we ever gonna get anything... oh well, I don't really care.

vvalkingman

Well I am dealing with a senior in high school, friend of a friend kind of thing. If she draws for me, I was hoping that she would be the one to draw all of the battlers used in the game since I wouldn't want the styles of art to drastically change etc etc. She agrees to draw them all. My question is, should I pay her per drawing? or more of a "here is x dollars up front and you will get x dollars when you are finished with them all?" I'm leaning to pay per drawing, because it's safer for me in the event that she doesn't provide anything. What do you guys think?

winkio

yeah, per drawing is good.  Depending on the level of detail, I'd say 1-10 dollars each is fair.  (1 for a simple sketch, 10 for a fully colored professional piece)