New but trying to learn rpgmaker xp

Started by worldwriter, November 29, 2010, 02:38:48 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

worldwriter

First, thanks to Blizzard and Ryan for making Blizz ABS.

Secondly, I'm rather new to all this and just need some help with basic yet important elements.

I have already learned how to make a quest where an npc asks the player to kill a set number of a certain monster and the monsters in question have a variable counter on them to let the npc know when the quest is complete...

Now Id like to learn how to make the following

1. A caterpillar party which I already know how to activate in Blizz ABS except Id like to meet each party member during the game some joining automatically while other may have quests to join or have the player choose yes or no conditional branch if they join.

2. shops. Item, Armor, weapon. nothing fancy yet, just a place to make basic transactions.

Any other tutorials or examples of basic events or mechanics of a standard rpg game are welcome as well.

Basicly, if you know how to do it and its either one of the things Ive asked for above or a key ingredient in one of the old Square or Enix rpgs, show me how to do it in this thread!

Thanks in advance everyone, seems like a nice community.

Worldwriter

G_G

Theres a Shop Processing event on the 3rd page of event commands.

worldwriter

Thanks so much! Can't wait to learn more...

Subsonic_Noise

There are also add / remove party member options on the event pages  and a start party option in the database.
But hey, there are toutorials all over the place. Go read for a bit, I'm pretty sure nobody feels like explaining the most basic things over and over again. We have a toutorial section, there is the RMXP / BlizzABS manual and there is google. Good Luck.

G_G

Heres a couple of events for the party thing.

Storyline Join
Spoiler: ShowHide

>@Show Text (Page 1): Da da da da! This guy has joined the party!
>@Change Party Members (Page 1): Add [Actor], Initialize