Author Topic: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?  (Read 2030 times)

Offline GAX

  • The guy who should be working on Chaotic Fury
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 799
  • LV: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • <null>
    • View Profile
ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« on: March 20, 2011, 07:06:58 AM »
Alright, Blizzard is well aware of this and I've been kinda quiet about it for a while.  Though I haven't played recently I wanted to start playing again and when I first wanted to start playing on my laptop, it decided "FUCK YOU" and crashes when it tries to cache through the temp folder or something.  I dunno.

Anyways, I just wanna see if anyone else is having a technical problem LOADING the game itself.  Not in game stuff but a problem that prevents the game from loading at all.  If you do, please post a screenshot here with the error code.

~GAX

(click to show/hide)

Offline ForeverZer0

  • CP's Pedophile
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3255
  • LV: 297
  • Gender: Male
  • Remember you are unique, just like everyone else.
    • View Profile
Re: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2011, 07:32:05 AM »
Have you tried running it as admin?
With all the UAC shit in since Vista, it may be something to do with permissions accessing the files, and crashing because of it.  I ran into this problem when setting up PCSX2 just yesterday when changing the settings. Although it was invoked using my username, who is the admin, it still failed when attempting to modify the settings, which were stored with the installation folder in Program Files. Very strange, but once I changed the folder to save in my Documents directory, everything worked fine. I think if it is trying to make a change that would normally open a UAC prompt, it will fail, even if the current user has permission.

Either way, I just ran TLoL with a fresh install using the default settings just fine. : Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

I am done scripting for RMXP. I will likely not offer support for even my own scripts anymore, but feel free to ask on the forum, there are plenty of other talented scripters that can help you.

Offline Blizzard

  • This sexy
  • Administrator
  • has over 9000 posts
  • *****
  • Posts: 19985
  • LV: 648
  • Gender: Male
  • Magic midgets.
    • View Profile
    • You're already on it. (-_-')
Re: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2011, 06:07:39 PM »
I installed LL4 at work and I had no problems whatsoever. ._. Try turning off UAC.
I remember you having the same problem earlier. I definitely fixed the typo in the path in v1.2, so I don't know what's causing you trouble.
Check out Daygames and our games:

King of Booze      King of Booze: Never Ever      Pet Bots
Drinking Game for Android      Never have I ever for Android      Pet Bots for Android
Drinking Game for iOS      Never have I ever for iOS      Pet Bots for iOS
Drinking Game on Steam


Quote from: winkio
I do not speak to bricks, either as individuals or in wall form.

Quote from: Barney Stinson
When I get sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.

Offline Kagutsuchi

  • Ethereal Devastator
  • ****
  • Posts: 468
  • LV: 2
  • Gender: Male
  • The God of .. eating souls?
    • View Profile
    • University Hosted Web Page - In Norwegian
Re: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2011, 01:02:12 PM »
no problem with tlol here on win 7

Offline Holyrapid

  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 749
  • LV: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Credit to FreshL on Deviantart
    • View Profile
    • My new Youtube channel!
Re: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2011, 05:04:42 PM »
Same.

Offline GAX

  • The guy who should be working on Chaotic Fury
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 799
  • LV: 25
  • Gender: Male
  • <null>
    • View Profile
Re: ATTN Windows 7 Users - Are you having problems with TLoL IV?
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2011, 06:30:55 PM »
I'll play with it a little more, I remember I had to keep UAC on in order to use Unity for class.  I can't really do much from that.

(click to show/hide)