Pokket's Music Thread

Started by pokket, June 02, 2011, 12:56:55 am

Previous topic - Next topic

pokket

Why, hello there. So I'm new to this forum and I already posted a topic about some script help and I realized "what a jerk move to do, I should give something in return" so here I am. I wasn't sure if I should put this in resources, but I wasn't exactly sure where else to put it.

Anyway, I'm somewhat of a musician. My focal point is instrumental hip hop and trip hop. This means I do a lot of sampling and do some synth work and composition to make the best stuff I can make. I also do remixes. Right now I'm interested in doing music for games, so I actually have a question for you guys before I showcase some of my work. To those who compose for games, what programs do you recommend? I want it to sound game-like of course, so I was thinking of using a midi program but wasn't sure where to begin.

I've been using FL Studio for six years and I have a legal copy as I like image-line's work. I've played live shows before, but that's recently settled down as I've been actually focused on a netlabel I put together a few months back as well as studying philosophy and business in college, as well as creative writing. I guess you could say I'm a jack of all trades, my weak points in the game industry being programming (which I'm hoping to change as I get a better grasp on the ruby language) and art work. I suck at art haha.