Chaos Project

RPG Maker => RPG Maker Scripts => RMXP Script Database => Topic started by: Wizered67 on March 27, 2011, 05:00:14 pm

Title: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 27, 2011, 05:00:14 pm
Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Authors: Wizered67
Version: 0.86
Type: Custom Mouse Menu System
Key Term: Custom Menu System



Introduction

When Ryex first released his Mouse Window API, I thought it was a cool script, but I didn't think I would ever use it. However, I soon realized that if I wanted a menu that didn't pause my game, I was going to need to make it myself and Ryex's Mouse Window API seemed like the best option. Finally, I have made enough progress and I feel that it is in a form I can release. This easy to use menu comes with various windows which should be enough for basic games. This script is not perfect and has a few things that need to be added or fixed. If you find an error, you should report it here.


Features




Screenshots
Spoiler: ShowHide
(http://i51.tinypic.com/2qd332w.png)

You can see some more screenshots of this in action in my project thread for Legendary Kingdoms Online. The link is in my signature. Oh yeah, and be sure to support my game while your at it  ;).


Demo
You can download the demo here:


(https://drive.google.com/file/d/16tv1BM6wdYQVMz1hYDqKsiJqbq8BXOKJ/view?usp=sharing[/url)

Script
See the demo.



Instructions

Configure the script (There's not much) and place all of the menu scripts and Ryex's Mouse Window API in your game. Make sure you add
$mouse_window_controller.update

to the update method in Scene_Map.


Compatibility

Requires Ryex's Mouse Window API. For best results, use with RMX-OS, and Blizz-ABS.


Credits and Thanks




Author's Notes

Enjoy and be sure to credit. Feel free to post if you have problems or need help or have feedback.

Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Noob on March 28, 2011, 06:16:58 pm
Excellent script! If I ever find a new site to host my game, I'll be sure to use it! :)
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 09:50:31 pm
Tried it and in your project has it erroring out from some nil integer.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 09:51:05 pm
What line is it? There's a chance I did something stupid with the demo.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 09:56:01 pm
76 is one of them but every time I try the demo I find another.
Also you can open many instances of the same menu screen. I instictively hit the esc key when I want to go back and/or close the menu. Doing so forces another menu open and it goes on. Once a menu has been opened even if you close it you can not speak to the shop keep anymore.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 09:58:47 pm
Which script is the error in on line 76? Opening more than 1 menu is a simple fix, but I'm not sure what I messed up with events no longer working. I'll check it out and try to fix it.

edit: I fixed where you could open more than one menu (although I left it that you can open more while you have it on the item window, equip window etc.) and fixed the event problem. I don't know what the error on line 76 is, but you may get a lot of erros just because Blizz-ABS and RMX-OS are not being used. It would be helpful if you could give me some details about the line 76 error so I can fix it and upload a new version.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 10:27:18 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 09:58:47 pm
Which script is the error in on line 76? Opening more than 1 menu is a simple fix, but I'm not sure what I messed up with events no longer working. I'll check it out and try to fix it.

edit: I fixed where you could open more than one menu (although I left it that you can open more while you have it on the item window, equip window etc.) and fixed the event problem. I don't know what the error on line 76 is, but you may get a lot of erros just because Blizz-ABS and RMX-OS are not being used. It would be helpful if you could give me some details about the line 76 error so I can fix it and upload a new version.

uninitialized constant Weapon equip menu:: RMXOS
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 10:28:21 pm
Tht's because RMXOS is not being used in the demo. Basically, the scripts need to be transfered over to a project with it.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 10:30:06 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 10:28:21 pm
Tht's because RMXOS is not being used in the demo. Basically, the scripts need to be transfered over to a project with it.

Ah, well there is still the multi menu and the npc interaction
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 10:31:50 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 09:58:47 pm
edit: I fixed where you could open more than one menu (although I left it that you can open more while you have it on the item window, equip window etc.) and fixed the event problem. I don't know what the error on line 76 is, but you may get a lot of errors just because Blizz-ABS and RMX-OS are not being used. It would be helpful if you could give me some details about the line 76 error so I can fix it and upload a new version.


edit: I have uploaded the new version with the fixes.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 10:40:32 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 10:31:50 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 09:58:47 pm
edit: I fixed where you could open more than one menu (although I left it that you can open more while you have it on the item window, equip window etc.) and fixed the event problem. I don't know what the error on line 76 is, but you may get a lot of errors just because Blizz-ABS and RMX-OS are not being used. It would be helpful if you could give me some details about the line 76 error so I can fix it and upload a new version.



I dont see an edit on the original post so I assumed that you didn't reupload
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Ryex on March 29, 2011, 10:44:03 pm
there is an edit. also nice work. it seems you've mastered the API. but my windows are still better than yours :P
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 29, 2011, 10:48:26 pm
Actually, in his defence, RoseSkye posted that before I updated the first post. I just though he was saying I still needed to fix it so I quoted myself saying that I had already fixed it.

And I don't think my windows will ever be as good as yours. You are the creator after all.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 29, 2011, 11:46:16 pm
Once you enter another scene (example: Item menu) you can re-call the menu and it repeats. Is there a way to have the cancel button cancel those scenes instead of recall the menu?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on March 30, 2011, 10:38:43 am
I'll look into it assuming that by "scene" you mean the item window.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: RoseSkye on March 30, 2011, 12:56:10 pm
Quote from: Wizered67 on March 30, 2011, 10:38:43 am
I'll look into it assuming that by "scene" you mean the item window.


I assume that all other sub-scenes of the menu does the same... Item menu is what I tested though
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 11, 2011, 09:33:55 pm
hey im trying to get this to work with the os, but im having a problem getting past the log in screen, the mouse works but i cant activate any
menu buttons, i put all the scripts from the demo under abs and os, i replaced the scene_map file with the one from the demo, and ideas?
edit- can click on the server then from there i have to press enter to log in, then when in game right click is not calling the menu escape is, but i can left click to scroll the menu's.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 11, 2011, 10:50:33 pm
It seems to me (correct me if I'm wrong) that the problem is probably with the Mouse Controller and not this script. By the way, I'm pretty sure I remember there was at least one problem with this script I never fixed, so if you find it, please tell me and I'll try to fix it.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 11, 2011, 11:07:00 pm
what with my control config? i can only see 2 places to config, that been in the abs script and tons of ad-ons
no sweat i got it working now, in the conifig script it says to change the input to escape if using custom controls,i just
had to change this back
edit- would there be anyway to implement this skill shop into the script, as i had it before and it is no longer fully functional with the new menu
http://forum.chaos-project.com/index.php?topic=3727.0

edit2: i cant get this to work properly with the visual equipment plugin, i i set the character to already have the equipment equiped on startup it works fine but if you start with no equipment then try to equip it, it comes up with this error-

script 'equip armour' line 63: type error occurred.

i saw in the screenshot that it looks like your using it to, so maybe you know a fix?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 12, 2011, 11:31:00 am
What's the error it comes up with?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 12, 2011, 11:48:37 am
[img=http://s2.postimage.org/2726xv0v8/error.jpg] (http://postimage.org/image/2726xv0v8/)
had problems uploading it before rofl  :)
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 12, 2011, 12:02:31 pm
I remember I used to get that, but I don't remember why. Are you sure you aren't doing something wrong?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 12, 2011, 12:07:00 pm
dunno, i have also added random action sprites, dunno if there would be conflict between the 2, do all your players start with a weapon and armour, maybe its trying to pull data from them
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 12, 2011, 12:10:50 pm
When do you get the error again?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 12, 2011, 12:15:48 pm
when i try to equip armour with none equiped to start, i havnt tryed setting up another armour to test switching with already equiped armour, but i need more sprites so i can tell the differnce
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 12, 2011, 12:23:49 pm
Oh yeah, this was the one thing I never fixed. There is one thing left in the script from when it was just for my game. To fix this, create a weapon with id 33 and give it no stats but name it "no weapon". Make a new armours id 67,66, and 68 and name them:
66: No helmet
67: No Shield
68: No body

To make the script correctly recognize which type of armour an item is, make new elements with ids 24,25, and 26 and give them to armours.

Give all body armours number 24
Give all helmets number 25
Give all shields number 26

This should fix all problems you're having right now. I just realized that the script doesn't have support for accessories, so I need to fix that. I didn't realize how many things I never fixed. I will try to fix them when I get the chance. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 12, 2011, 12:35:30 pm
no problem, you cant be expected to perfect it on demand  :) i should be ok with what you've
given me, setting blank equipment actually sounds pretty logical but i may make it default equipment, as no weapon would appear as an item, is there anyway i could restrict the items so that you cannot remove them from your inventory eg. sell, future support for accessories would be deeply appreciated :D
edit: still same error, will i have to exclude there id in visual script, and what about the unique option?
edit 2:sorted it, i didnt assign the blank id's to the ones you said, i figured they just had to be in there somewhere, thanks for the help! :haha:
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 12, 2011, 06:50:02 pm
I'll be sure to fix up this script soon. It shouldn't take too long, just when I first made the script I had intended it to be just for my game and didn't change some things.

edit: Accessory support will be easier than I thought. Its just adding a few lines. I'll try to update this when I get the chance.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 13, 2011, 05:05:09 pm
cool, also there is a minor edit you could make, if you made it so the menu opens where your cursor is, so it gets the x and y or summint, as when you need to open multiple menus for differnt tasks they stack and it sometimes gets anoying lol, but its not a must :)
oh yeah and what is the little pluss box for :O.o:
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 16, 2011, 03:42:37 pm
bump. found a new error, the weapons and item info works fine but when i try to get an armours info i get this error-
http://postimage.org/image/lwh6fcys/
also on the log in screen i cannot actually log in by clicking the button, i need to press enter, which is odd as i have set the enter button on the controler configiration to also use left click?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: nathmatt on June 16, 2011, 05:19:29 pm
Quote from: diagostimo on June 16, 2011, 03:42:37 pm
i cannot actually log in by clicking the button, i need to press enter, which is odd as i have set the enter button on the controler configiration to also use left click?

i have noticed that but that has nothing to do with his menu its either the mouse controller or RMX-OS im not sure which 1

btw use the modify button don't double post  :rulez:
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 16, 2011, 07:44:21 pm
I fixed the error you reported, but I'm too lazy to upload a fix right now. Sorry. To fix it yourself, go into the script "Equip Armour" and look for "def info_weapon". Just change it to "def info_armour" and it should work.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 17, 2011, 03:03:34 am
thanks dude,the joys of mistypes lol, and sorry nath i should no better
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 22, 2011, 01:13:45 am
Just wanted to let you know that I never got around to making accessories work right. In 2 days, I'll be leaving and I'll be gone for around 4 weeks so I won't be able to fix it then. I do, however, have this on my "to-do list" and will work on it when I get back. I also probably won't be able to give any support with this script while I'm gone. I'm sorry, but I will work on this eventually.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: diagostimo on June 22, 2011, 05:20:18 pm
np, this script is operational as it is for now, you didnt say what the little plus box was for in the bottom right, it seams pretty useless at the min so is there a way to remove it?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on June 22, 2011, 05:31:20 pm
The plus box is part of the stat distribution system and has nothing to do with this. It can be removed in the stat distribution script and shows if you have any points to distribute.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: swick on November 30, 2011, 08:16:13 pm
I seem to be getting an error whenever I click "Info" on an item in the item menu:

Script 'Item Window' line 133: NameError occurred.

uninitialized constant Item_window::RMXOS

I'm just going to assume it's because I don't have RMXOS, is there a way to work around this?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on November 30, 2011, 08:24:29 pm
You need RMX-OS to use this script. The reason is that info displays the item info in the chat box. Its possible to fix, but I don't have the effort to do it. I never actually fixed a lot of things with this script... Sorry.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: swick on November 30, 2011, 08:33:17 pm
LOL, I see.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 17, 2012, 02:28:23 am
Quote from: Wizered67 on June 22, 2011, 01:13:45 am
Just wanted to let you know that I never got around to making accessories work right. In 2 days, I'll be leaving and I'll be gone for around 4 weeks so I won't be able to fix it then. I do, however, have this on my "to-do list" and will work on it when I get back. I also probably won't be able to give any support with this script while I'm gone. I'm sorry, but I will work on this eventually.


Poke, poke.
Ever get around to messing with this? I know the bugs are small, but I figured I'd ask.

Also, I haven't looked at the actual coding of it all yet (theres lots, as you well know.), but I was wondering how difficult it would be to edit this to use a graphical UI?

Edit :: I got an error when trying to equip armor on this line

armour_choices.add_item('Equip ' + $data_armors[@oldarm].name + ' -> ' + $data_armors[data].name , :equip_armour, self)


QuoteTypeError Occurred
No implicit conversion from nil to integer
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 18, 2012, 11:10:30 am
I never got around to fixing the bugs. Sorry. I will try EVENTUALLY.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 18, 2012, 01:51:17 pm
Any idea what causes it?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 18, 2012, 06:45:10 pm
Did you maybe not have any armour on before equipping it? I'm not completely sure though, because I thought I fixed that.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 18, 2012, 08:18:07 pm
Nope, no armor on before. Let me try with armor already equiped and see if it makes a difference.

Edit ::

Now Im getting the error that Diagostimo was getting. Tried this fix, but no luck.
Spoiler: ShowHide
Quote from: Wizered67 on June 16, 2011, 07:44:21 pm
I fixed the error you reported, but I'm too lazy to upload a fix right now. Sorry. To fix it yourself, go into the script "Equip Armour" and look for "def info_weapon". Just change it to "def info_armour" and it should work.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 18, 2012, 09:56:53 pm
I'll try to look into this over this weekend. I don't know why that's happening...
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 18, 2012, 10:53:03 pm
Sounds good. I'd send you a demo, but it's getting rather big xD

Here's a script list, in order. Also, pretty redic now that I look at it  :roll:
Spoiler: ShowHide
RMX-OS Options
RMX-OS Script
- Versioning
- Global Variables
- Chat Filter
- Daily Message

Single Instance Script
Actor Class Mod
Quick Message Script

Quest Log
- RMX-OS Controller

Equipment Requirements

Passive Skills

Stat Distribution System

A.T.E.S.
- Global DNS for RMX-OS

Blizz ABS 1-3
- Visual Equipment
  -- RMX-OS Controller
- Z Hud
- Enemy Healthbar
- Battle Music
- Action Recharge Time

RMX-OS Following (had to be below blizz abs)

Mouse Controller
- Enhancement

(MOUSE WINDOW APIs)
Frame Class
...
Mouse_Window::Controller

(CUSTOM WINDOWS)

Config
Menu System
...
Shop
MWC

RMX-OS Main
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 20, 2012, 12:42:01 am
Try this http://www.sendspace.com/file/fgejmz (http://www.sendspace.com/file/fgejmz)
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 21, 2012, 02:27:09 am
DLing now.. is Tons a requirement? I use Blizz ABS for my input module.

Edit :: Hmm.

It works sometimes, but on occasion I get a NoMethod error on line 51 of the equip armor part.

 elsif $data_armors[data].kind == 2
   @type = 3
      elseif $data_armors[data].kind == 3
  @type = 4
   end

the middle line is 51 (elseif $data_armors[data].kind == 3)

Ill poke around some more and figure out exactly whats causing it if I can.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 21, 2012, 01:14:45 pm
Oh, that's a typo. It should be
elsif
I think instead of elseif.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: chaucer on January 21, 2012, 02:05:48 pm
hey i got a few questions, love the script by the way :D
1.where can i find the method for the exit button? for when you exit the menu's.
2.is there a way to call each scene without going through the main menu source, like when a certain button is pressed itll go straight to the hotkeys or straight to equip. hope that i make sense..
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: mroedesigns on January 21, 2012, 03:11:51 pm
 :facepalm:

Wow.
Cant believe I didnt see that. Granted it was very early in the morning here.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 21, 2012, 11:04:50 pm
Quote from: chaucer on January 21, 2012, 02:05:48 pm
hey i got a few questions, love the script by the way :D
1.where can i find the method for the exit button? for when you exit the menu's.
2.is there a way to call each scene without going through the main menu source, like when a certain button is pressed itll go straight to the hotkeys or straight to equip. hope that i make sense..


1. You mean when you click the little X on the top right corner of the menus? I honestly don't remember, but I don't think I ever use it in the script. Do I? I wrote this so long ago.

2. There is and it should be fairly easy. I don't think I will add this myself, but you need to find where it checks for the input to open the menu and then have it check for key input on the others and open the right menu.

I just updated the script with a few changes. Hopefully they help make the script better. For the record, I'm not quite sure if accessories work.

Here's the updated version http://www.sendspace.com/file/0cfd5d (http://www.sendspace.com/file/0cfd5d)
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: whitespirits on January 28, 2014, 10:20:30 am
Can any 1 reupload this demo or add the script?
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 28, 2014, 08:47:46 pm
I'll dig around and see if I can find it, but give me a bit. Not sure why the link went down.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: whitespirits on January 29, 2014, 07:46:46 am
Thanks Wizard, just an extra question what happened to ur building project? houses etc
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: G_G on January 29, 2014, 09:42:05 am
Quote from: Wizered67 on January 28, 2014, 08:47:46 pm
Not sure why the link went down.


Because with sendspace if it goes 15 days with no download it gets deleted. There are so many other reliable file hosts.

Dropbox, Box, Mediafire, and Google Drive would be my recommendations.
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: PhoenixFire on January 29, 2014, 10:12:46 am
I would also like to point out SkyDrive.. It's a good alternative as well.. I would place it second after DropBox though.

Quote from: whitespirits on January 28, 2014, 10:20:30 am
Can any 1 reupload this demo or add the script?


I would like to point out that you're 100% aware that this is not only for RMX-OS, but it also wasn't de-bugged very much. If you're aware of both of these, and plan to script a bit yourself, then my point is invalid, so feel free to ignore it :V:
Title: Re: [XP] Wizered67's Ultimate Mouse Menu
Post by: Wizered67 on January 29, 2014, 06:50:57 pm
Alright, here you go. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/25507891/Custom%20Windows.zip

I took a quick look and it seemed to work for the most part. However, as I recall, it requires a few other scripts the way it is set up right now. Those scripts being Blizz-ABS, RMX-OS, and I believe Game_Guy's quest script is required for the quest section of the menu. I haven't personally had problems with the menu in the past, but have been able to easily fix issues I found. If you do not know scripting and won't be able to figure out how to fix any of the potentially minor problems that may arise, this probably isn't the script for you. I've generally speaking moved on from RMXP and will only be able to give limited scripting support.