Chaos Project

RPG Maker => Tutorials => Topic started by: Jek on August 07, 2010, 11:42:50 PM

Title: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Jek on August 07, 2010, 11:42:50 PM
How to Import Maps into RMXP
   Some of us have a team of members working together; making sprites, art, scripts, and maps. Everything is easy to put into a project, except other peoples RMXP maps. You can't just drag the Map001.rxdata into the data folder and expect RMXP to read it. The reason RMXP doesn't read the Map001.rxdata is because it has the map info saved in MapInfos.rxdata. RMXP won't even know your map is there, if there is no Map001 in the MapInfos.rxdata.

   I figured all this out after trying to give ShadowCarnage a map for his project, Wipe.

   Now, its very easy to import maps into RMXP. This tutorial will teach you how. Also, since I am freaking awesome, I'm including pictures (despite how outrageously easy this is).

Step 1: Create an empty map...
In the project you want the map to be imported into, create a new map. Don't bother doing anything with this map, it will be replaced by the new map. Remember its ID number. You can find its ID number in Map Properties.
(http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/2783/41600332.png)

Step 2: Close RMXP
Now, close your project. Make sure to save any changes made to the game.

Step 3: Rename your maps name
Rename the map you want to import into the game to the Map ID I told you to remember earlier. For instance, if the Map ID you remembered was 123, rename the file to Map123.rxdata.

Step 4: Drag the map into the data folder of your project.
Find the Data folder for your project. Drag and drop the new map into the Data folder. It will ask you if you want to replace the old file. Click Yes.

Step 5: Make necessary changes.
Your mapper may have used different autotiles, sprites, etc. Make sure to ask the mapper for anything you may need for the map, and import that into the game.
Some events may need fixing when imported. Specifically teleporting events.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Blizzard on August 07, 2010, 11:48:18 PM
There's a problem. Teleport events will be messed up if you change the map ID.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Jek on August 07, 2010, 11:51:13 PM
I added a note to step 5.
Thanks for the tip Blizzard...
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Agckuu Coceg on August 08, 2010, 05:59:13 AM
This is funny.   :O_O:

WHY spend so much time when you can copy the map from project to project without this?

(click to show/hide)

You only need resources for this map.

Surely even Blizzard don't know about this? I'm OVERLOL. But yeah, Teleport events will be messed up.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: G_G on August 08, 2010, 06:40:07 AM
Because, 2 people have the projects, on 2 different computers. I dont see whats so funny.

You cant copy a map from one computer like that and move it to another computer. Which is for something like 2 friends working on a game at the same time.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Agckuu Coceg on August 08, 2010, 06:49:12 AM
Because, 2 people have the projects, on 2 different computers. I dont see whats so funny.

You cant copy a map from one computer like that and move it to another computer. Which is for something like 2 friends working on a game at the same time.

Well, the explanation more understandable. Thanks.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Blizzard on August 08, 2010, 09:48:07 AM
The title already says "How to IMPORT maps into RMXP". I'd say it's very understandable.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Silentknight72 on August 08, 2010, 11:43:03 AM
well, he is Japanese, he even uses the Google Translate.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Blizzard on August 08, 2010, 11:49:03 AM
I thought he was Russian. O_o
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: Jek on August 08, 2010, 08:31:09 PM
I dunno.
Title: Re: [XP]How to Import Maps into RMXP
Post by: WhiteRose on August 08, 2010, 09:01:04 PM
He's definitely not Japanese; look at the screenshots of his desktop. That's not Japanese. Also, we're getting a bit off-topic.