Author Topic: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games  (Read 101798 times)

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #340 on: July 26, 2018, 03:41:50 AM »
https://pastebin.com/L95dBzgY

Should be a link to his script. Yeah, it could use a reupload.

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3181
  • LV: 381
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #341 on: July 26, 2018, 03:46:35 AM »
I'm noticing a space between the Color.new and the parentheses. Remove the space and you should be good. It's one of those syntax changes introduced between Ruby 1.8 and 1.9



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #342 on: July 27, 2018, 06:15:27 AM »
It worked, thank you!

However, I am having a few issues. I currently have 848 maps as of right now in one project. On all 848, everything works fine without XPA but when I install XPA, the 848th map will crash if I attempt to move within it. This is the traceback.log.

Code: [Select]
undefined method `[]' for nil:NilClass

[0101]Blizz 2:8801:in `tile_check'
[0101]Blizz 2:8740:in `direction_passable?'
[0101]Blizz 2:8705:in `self_passable?'
[0102]Blizz 3:2789:in `jump_passable?'
[0102]Blizz 3:1869:in `jump'
[0102]Blizz 3:2988:in `jump'
[0101]Blizz 2:3679:in `update_control'
[0102]Blizz 3:2081:in `update'
[0077]Scene_Map:56:in `block in update'
[0077]Scene_Map:49:in `loop'
[0077]Scene_Map:49:in `update'
[0096]Ccoa's UMS:329:in `update'
[0097]Tons 1:2475:in `update'
[0098]Tons 2:517:in `update'
[0098]Tons 2:2378:in `update'
[0098]Tons 2:3182:in `update'
[0102]Blizz 3:6806:in `update'
[0077]Scene_Map:25:in `block in main'
[0077]Scene_Map:19:in `loop'
[0077]Scene_Map:19:in `main'
[0097]Tons 1:1797:in `main'
[0097]Tons 1:2438:in `main'
[0098]Tons 2:2372:in `main'
[0098]Tons 2:3172:in `main'
[0102]Blizz 3:6714:in `main'
[0109][XPA] Main:37:in `block in <main>'
:1:in `block in rgss_main'
:1:in `loop'
:1:in `rgss_main'
[0109][XPA] Main:28:in `<main>'
ruby:in `eval'

But on the other 847, it will load as it should.

However, some maps have issues with me clipping through walls and this happens no matter if the tiles are set to an X or not.

Wait, never mind. Well, sort of. I did not have debug mode turned on. Strange, though if I was to launch through the game, it would be normal.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 06:20:56 AM by Sin86 »

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3181
  • LV: 381
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #343 on: July 27, 2018, 06:52:29 AM »
Error is pointing towards Game_Map's virtual_passability, which is related to INTELLIGENT_PASSABILITY. I'm sure you understand this creates a file 'Map_Data.abs' in your project folder so that all the collision data on maps can be loaded quickly. This file is created every time you run your game in debug mode (playtest from inside the editor), running through all the maps in your project.

Basically this error is telling me that you made this Map_Data.abs file before when you had 847 maps, made the 848th map, then attempted to play your game through the Game.exe directly (not through the editor). The 848th map's collision data was never created and stored in the Map_Data.abs, so the game was effectively trying to pull non-existent data.



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #344 on: July 27, 2018, 07:31:02 AM »
So in other words, would it be best to disable intelligent passiblity?

Also, I notice that when talking to NPCs, the talk window is at the top. How do I bring it down to the bottom?

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3181
  • LV: 381
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #345 on: July 27, 2018, 07:42:16 AM »
I mean, all you have to do is playtest your game at least once (just run the game, the file will be generated before you see the title screen) before distributing your game. You can disable it if you want.

Ccoa UMS has a setting where if you're in battle, the window's Y coordinate is set to 16. Makes sense if you're using the default battle system (your party's UI window is at the bottom of the screen) but BlizzABS has a thing where the flag $game_temp.in_battle is almost always on.

So to disable it for good, just look for that variable in Ccoa's script (appears 5 times for me) and replace it with just false, like
Code: [Select]
    if false #$game_temp.in_battle
      self.y = 16
Code: [Select]
if $game_system.text_mode == ALL_AT_ONCE #or $game_temp.in_battle
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 08:51:21 AM by KK20 »



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #346 on: July 27, 2018, 08:46:35 AM »
Just to clarify, I think I found it 5 or 6 times. Some of them have a self.y = 16, others had @gold_window.y = 192. I did your trick on all of them along with a script patch that gave CCoa's UMS compatibility with custom resolution scripts such as the one you use.

Thank you so much!
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 08:51:02 AM by Sin86 »

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3181
  • LV: 381
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #347 on: July 27, 2018, 08:49:47 AM »
You made sure to replace every single existence of $game_temp.in_battle in the script? That's really the only reason it's showing at the top; nothing else affects it.
Only other thing would be $game_system.message_position is still equal to 0. Set it to 2 instead.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2018, 08:53:24 AM by KK20 »



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #348 on: July 27, 2018, 08:53:23 AM »
Yeah, it worked well.

Also, I just noticed a HUGE performance boost in an area with 30 events, which is a lot in this one area as it had the most slow down of all areas. I set the resolution to 800x600 with the priority layers set to 3 and I've never seen anything like this before. This is fantastic!

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3181
  • LV: 381
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #349 on: July 27, 2018, 08:57:25 AM »
Interesting. A higher resolution contributes to more lag and nothing was done to improve event performance. I guess Ruby 1.9 is all the credit for that ¯\_(ツ)_/¯



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Sin86

  • Transcended Spirit
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
  • LV: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [XP] RMXPAce -- Using the VX Ace engine in your XP games
« Reply #350 on: July 27, 2018, 02:32:47 PM »
Higher resolution can cause lag, yes but it also depends on how big you set your resolution to. If you set it to something huge like 1920x1080, regardless of priority layers then yeah, you're going to have some lag but if you set it something a little small like 800x600, then you're fine just as long as you set the priority layers to something like 3.