Author Topic: [Resolved for now]Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles  (Read 176 times)

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
[Resolved for now]Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« on: May 29, 2018, 10:17:08 AM »
Hey all been a good while.

 So i been messing around with RMXP again and I trying to figure out to make the Border of the Battle Status window..well vanish I could be missing something in my own script.( I haven't done this stuff in a long time)

Here is what it it is doing(please don't mind the other sprites etc. still messing around with all of this)
(click to show/hide)

Here is the script.
(click to show/hide)
« Last Edit: June 02, 2018, 11:29:10 AM by Spoofus »


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: Border Refuses to vanish
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2018, 06:09:09 PM »
Not even VXA has a method for changing window border opacity, so you'll need to edit a custom windows script to allow it.

An alternative would be to edit the default scripts to allow custom windowskins for each window. Then make a copy of your windowskin graphic without the borders.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 06:11:12 PM by KK20 »



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Border Refuses to vanish
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2018, 06:33:39 PM »
And I wouldn't even know where to begin with that, but it is a good idea and something I'll look into.
I never would of thought of doing that.
Now is there a simple line of script I could add in to just for the status windows to use a custom window skin?
And if that it literally what you just said, I am sorry   :facepalm: the older you get, your mind begins to go.

Edit:(updated title)
the other problem is I can't seem to get the 3rd party member's hp,mp, and states to update when taking damage and the like.Where it has been so long my mind just draws a complete blank on how to fix this and I am sure it is a stupid obvious solution.   :facepalm:

Here is the script:(preferred script)
(click to show/hide)

If a copy of the project would be easier just let me know.

This whole day so far has been a derp day for me.....
« Last Edit: May 29, 2018, 06:46:05 PM by Spoofus »


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2018, 08:46:29 PM »
In Window_Base#update, you just comment out these lines
Code: [Select]
    # Reset if windowskin was changed
    if $game_system.windowskin_name != @windowskin_name
      @windowskin_name = $game_system.windowskin_name
      self.windowskin = RPG::Cache.windowskin(@windowskin_name)
    end
And to change a window's windowskin, it's simply
Code: [Select]
@my_window.windowskin = RPG::Cache.windowskin('graphic_filename')
Just know that you will have to manually handle dynamic changes to the windowskin (e.g. player can go to Options and change the windowskin graphic), if you have anything like that in-game.

For the actor updates, I don't see anything in the code. In fact, it doesn't look like any of your actors should have their values updated at all, not just the 3rd actor.



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2018, 09:18:54 PM »
Okay, I'll see what I can do about the borders.

And about the status not updating, you have to see it in action yourself if you have the time, I can't explain it, it's a mystery to me  :^_^': .
and sorry about the mess it is, still working on a lot of it.



My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2018, 12:23:00 AM »
Yeah the problem wasn't shown in the script you posted. You made edits to the default Scene_Battle scripts, e.g.
Code: [Select]
    # Refresh status window
    @status_window.refresh
    @actor1_window.refresh
    @actor2_window.refresh
You're missing your @actor3_window variable in all of these instances.



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #6 on: May 30, 2018, 01:07:41 AM »
Yup, I knew it would be something dumb.  :facepalm:

Thanks again for the help.

edit:
Okay I commented out these lines
Code: [Select]
    # Reset if windowskin was changed
    if $game_system.windowskin_name != @windowskin_name
      @windowskin_name = $game_system.windowskin_name
      self.windowskin = RPG::Cache.windowskin(@windowskin_name)
    end

I just realized, you can't have more than one window skin showing in RMXP, I am assuming this is correct.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 01:46:55 AM by Spoofus »


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #7 on: May 30, 2018, 03:46:01 AM »
Yes, if you are sub-classing Window_Base (which all the default window scripts--and 99% of custom scripts--does), that bit of code in the update method is what ensures there's only one windowskin being used. As soon as $game_system.windowskin_name changes, all the windows will automatically update to use the new graphic.



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #8 on: May 30, 2018, 09:39:33 AM »
Since I have this topic open for my how dumb of a question can Spoofus come up with thread  :^_^':

Say you are using Paradog's sideview player actor as battler script,and we're thinking of a way to have actor states(states as icons from Tons) instead of being inside the battle status window, is it possible to have the states "icons" appear behind the battler sprite, and have the same for enemy states appearing behind the enemy battler as well?

And sorry again for all the questions, like I said it's been awhile since I messed with this stuff which I did miss doing.


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2018, 10:18:18 AM »
It'd be easier to create a new script to handle that instead. But icons behind the battler? Not sure I agree with UI graphics being blocked by non-UI graphics.



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2018, 10:27:06 AM »
I'd have to make a easy picture of what I was thinking when I can get to the computer. Saying behind the actor wasn't the best choice of words on my part. I'll edit this post in a bit with it.

Edit:

Okay so first of all I solved the making the battle status transparent without borders, it was the simplest thing.
(click to show/hide)

just use this easy as can be line of code.
Code: [Select]
self.opacity = 0
and here is what I trying to describe about the actor states and all that.
(click to show/hide)
having them appear something like that instead of the status window.

If that wouldn't work I was looking into what line of code to change in Tons to permanently change the opacity
of the icons and to figure out what I need to add or change to to display the HP and SP over top of the icons as well so they would appear on top and not kinda blended in with the dulled out icons.

Imagine the status window with the stated above in effect
(click to show/hide)

or a mix of the two to make it look like this would be nice looking
example:
(click to show/hide)

and please forgive the ramblings on this I like working on layouts for stuff.


also on a side note, this kinda reminds me of Breath of Fire 3's battle system without even attempting to recreate it.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2018, 01:10:12 PM by Spoofus »


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2018, 05:17:50 PM »
So a quick bump here.

But, here is a dumb dumb questions.
So I was looking at the RO skill/job system stuff, and with G_G's Hand Cursor script, in the selecting windows it still treats the cursor as the default cursor.
One question is, what would I have to change or add to make the two of them compatible?
Also, I am seeing this with some other scripts like Blizz's Party Changer, and a few others.



Planning a menu layout so a request may be in the works next few days


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/

Offline KK20

  • Master Scripter Fixer
  • Global Moderator
  • Guardian of Chaos
  • ****
  • Posts: 3142
  • LV: 378
  • Gender: Male
  • Choco Octo <3
    • View Profile
Re: [Resolved for now]Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2018, 04:55:26 AM »
Any instance you see this in a Window class
Code: [Select]
cursor_rect.set(x, y, width, height)
You will need to change it's associated parameters in this manner:
  • Add GameGuy::X_OFFSET and GameGuy::Y_OFFSET to the X and Y coordinates respectively.
  • Change the width and height values to 32. No exceptions.
As an example, in RO Job/Skill, there's only one instance of this:
Code: [Select]
self.cursor_rect.set(x, (@index + 1) * 32, @cursor_width, 32)So you would change it to
Code: [Select]
self.cursor_rect.set(x + GameGuy::X_OFFSET, (@index + 1) * 32 + GameGuy::Y_OFFSET, 32, 32)



Other Projects
RPG Maker XP AceUpgrade RMXP to RMVXA performance!
XPA TilemapTilemap rewrite with many features, including custom resolution!


Nintendo Switch Friend Code: 8310-1917-5318
Discord: KK20 Tyler#8901

Join the CP Discord Server!

Offline Spoofus

  • CP's Lovable Turtle
  • Astral Trancist
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • LV: 19
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Re: [Resolved for now]Borders and Dumb Dumb Troubles
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2018, 06:41:57 AM »
Thanks KK20, you to the rescue again, if I could give you
A hug in person, I'd give you a big ol' bear hug.


My Blog site I am working on: http://spoofus.weebly.com/